Thanks for coming to the 2013 National Poetry Slam!

On behalf of our volunteer crew here in Boston, Cambridge, and Somerville, we are proud to announce the tournament finalists and winners:

National Poetry Slam Championship
WINNERS: Slam New Orleans: Team SNO (New Orleans, LA)
2. Da Poetry Lounge (Hollywood, CA)
3. Nuyorican Poets Cafe (New York, NY)
4. Elevated! (San Diego, CA)

National Poetry Slam Group Piece Co-Champions
Team Neo-Soul (Austin, TX) and Intangible Slam (New York, NY)

Golden Poem Winners
Sara Brickman, Seattle Poetry Slam (Seattle, WA)
Jessica Helen Lopez, ABQ Slams (Albuquerque, NM)
Sasha Banks, Inkwell Poetry Slam (Arlington/Fort-Worth, TX)
Christine Howey (Lake Effect Poetry Slam, Cleveland, OH)

Spirit of the Slam Winner
Mona Jean Cedar
for more than a decade of volunteer ASL interpretation at NPS

And With Immense Gratitude To
Casey Rocheteau, NPS STUD
for holding this year’s tournament together in a myriad of seemingly impossible ways

To catch up with up you missed, see the Festival Photographs taken by our volunteer photo team, check out our selected press coverage from the tournament, listen in to the nightly recaps provided by SlamCenter, watch the August 17 Finals show as streamed from the Berklee Performance Center, or get even more links to tournament coverage in the last NPS 2013 blog post.

Next year’s National Poetry Slam will take place in Oakland, CA from August 5-9. Mark your calendars, and watch this space for more info in 2014!